San Diego DUI and Out-of-State Drivers

If you or a loved one is visiting from out-of-state and were arrested for a San Diego DUI, call the DUI Defense Law Group today for a free consultation. Our drunk driving defense attorneys are well versed in handling cases for non-residents. We will fight hard to get your charges reduced or even dismissed. In most cases, our lawyers can appear on your behalf.

Perhaps the biggest mistake that a person can make if they are an out-of-state driver and arrested for driving under the influence in San Diego is to fail to appear in court. It is understandable that you may be unable to return for a future court date, but a failure to appear will result in a warrant being issued for your arrest. If you have an outstanding warrant it could affect your ability to obtain a license or even travel.

The DUI Defense Law Group knows how important it is to get the charges minimized if you are not a California resident. In many cases we can have court requirements transferred to your home state or dismissed altogether. California has some of the strictest drunk driving laws in the country, but our team of leading DUI defense attorneys can help.

Out-of-State Driver and the DMV

All drivers arrested in California for driving under the influence are subject to having their California driving privileges suspended 30 days from the date of arrest. If you have a license from another state and that state participates in the Interstate Drivers’ License Compact, your home state may suspend your driving privileges as well. It is important that you still contact the California Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days of your arrest to request an administrative per se hearing on the suspension of your driving privileges. This hearing allows you to review evidence, subpoena documents and even cross-examine witnesses such as the arresting officer. Failure to contact the California DMV within 10 calendar days of your arrest will result in the suspension of your driving privileges in California. The suspension begins 30 days from the date of arrest.

Contact the DUI Defense Law Group today if you were arrested for a San Diego DUI and hold an out-of-state driver’s license. Our attorneys will walk you through the DMV hearing process as well as the criminal court process. You need to act fast to preserve your rights. Call our offices today.